top of page
  • Writer's pictureDawn Joy Whitestone

Ten Reasons Why I Write My Prayers

I don’t write all of my prayers, but here’s why I write a lot of them.


1. Writing helps me to stay focused better than just talking my prayers.


2. Writing by hand gives me a private record that only I have access to. Computers can be hacked by anyone in the world. Far fewer people will ever have access to my written journals.


3. Writing slows down my thought processes and helps me to focus on one thing.

4. I tend to “hear” God better when I write. Sometimes I feel like a secretary taking dictation. When I write what I sense God saying to me, I don’t have to find a place in my brain to store it. It’


s all there on the paper. This helps me to listen better in my spirit.


5. I don’t know why, but writing my prayers calms me. I feel less anxious when I write my prayers. Usually, the longer I write, the calmer I feel. I notice that I breathe more deeply and slowly as well.


6. Sometimes I even draw diagrams to organize my thoughts in ways that I can’t when I’m thinking or talking out my prayers.


7. Writing instead of typing doesn’t require an electronic device. Just a pen and paper. I enjoy the simplicity of that!


8. Writing instead of typing let’s me be messy. I’m more likely to write in draft mode and just let the thoughts flow. When I type, I tend to automatically correct and edit as I go. Writing lets my thoughts come more easily. Most of the time, editing isn’t necessary. If it is, I can do it when I transfer the writing to a computer file.


9. When I write my prayers, I can go back later and re-read what I wrote. This has benefitted me in so many ways!


  • Sometimes I need the encouragement of remembering how God has helped me in the past.

  • Sometimes, when I feel disconnected, re-reading my prayers helps me to reconnect.

  • Often, re-reading my prayers encourages me to stay the course and persevere when things get tough.

  • Some of my written prayers have inspired blog posts or book chapters or other creative endeavors.

  • Sometimes I look back and realize I’ve made little progress in a particular area. That spurs me to get moving and do better.

10. Writing makes me lighter—ok, it just makes me feel lighter. When I write my prayers, it gets my worries out of my head. It reminds me of untangling a long extension cord. Life feels less messy, more organized and easier to deal with when I write out what I’ve been carrying around in my head. There’s just something about seeing things on paper that makes them easier to deal with!

Not everyone is like me. Some of my Strategic Prayer clients pray better when they are moving—walking, jogging, riding a bike. How do you do your best praying? Let know in the comments!

111 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page