top of page
  • Writer's pictureDawn Joy Whitestone

A Hearty Laugh for Mother's Day

Today (May 9, 2020) I got a Mother's Day card from my friend and fellow Mom, Michelle Ogden. I stood in my kitchen reading it and just kept laughing. I needed that laugh.


On this Mother's Day weekend, both Michelle and I are facing some pretty sobering realities. Her mom has breast cancer. My stepdaughter is in the hospital for the third time in a month. All of us are living with the specter of Coronavirus.


Sometimes we need a break from sorrow, anxiety and the weighty cares of reality. Sometimes we need to look at reality through a different lens. In the midst of her tears and fears, Michelle paused and found some humor. Then she shared it with other Mom's she knows. What a gift!


So, from Michelle and myself, here is our gift to you for Mother's Day 2020.


"The most expensive part of having kids is all the wine you have to drink."


Dear Mom,

Thank you for NOT losing your mind during quarantine--well, except that one time. I know we are not supposed to talk about it.


Thanks for tolerating Dad--well, kinda.


Thank you for working so hard to keep us all alive and not running away. BTW, thank you for coming back!


Thank you for forcing us to do virtual stuff, although we complain the ENTIRE time. Thanks for not strangling us--well, I deserved it that ONE time.


I'm grateful you stopped crying as much--you look SO much happier without all the tears...


Here's to all the women who tackle the World's Toughest Job 24/7, and teach the true meaning of selflessness. One day, your children WILL thank you. Until then, I will!


With Love,

Michelle

"When I am weak, HE is strong" (2 Corinthians 12:10).

110 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page